interior static banner

King University News :: Anticipation Builds as Spring Commencement Approaches

King College will celebrate Spring Commencement exercises at 10 a.m. on Saturday, May 5, 2012, on the campus Oval.  The scheduled keynote speaker is The Rev. Dr. John N. Akers.

The Rev. Dr. John N. Akers, an ordained minister of the Presbyterian Church in the United States of America, is special assistant to Dr. Billy Graham.  A native of Colorado Springs, Colo., he is a graduate of the University of Colorado (B.A., history), Columbia Theological Seminary (B.D., Th.M., New Testament), and the University of Edinburgh, Scotland (Ph.D., Ecclesiastical History).  He has taught at two Presbyterian colleges, Belhaven College and Montreat College, and was also academic dean of Montreat College until accepting his present position in 1977.

Dr. Akers’ responsibilities include assisting Dr. Graham in research, administration, and special projects.  He has a special interest in the Church in Eastern Europe and Asia, including China and North Korea, and has helped coordinate Dr. Graham’s visits in those parts of the world.  Additionally, he is involved in various ecumenical contacts, and has accompanied Dr. Graham on his visits to the Vatican.  He also acted as the editorial coordinator for Dr. Graham’s autobiography, “Just As I Am,” and other books by Dr. Graham.  Dr. Akers serves on the board of various non-profit agencies, and is a member of the Board of Directors of Christianity Today magazine.  He also served as chair of the Program Planning Committee for Amsterdam 2000, which brought together more than 10,000 Christian leaders and evangelists for strategic planning and training in evangelism.

King will award diplomas to 374 students who have completed undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies degrees.  Special honors will include the Distinguished Faculty Award, M. Jeffrey Byrd Distinguished Service Award, Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award, R.T.L. Liston Award for Academic Excellence, as well as the presentation of the Jack E. Snider Honors Fellows.